The Guy Waterman Alpine Steward Award

left to right: Andrea Tirrell, Don Hudson, Charlie Cogbill.
left to right: Andrea Tirrell, Don Hudson, Charlie Cogbill.

2023 Guy Waterman Alpine Stewardship Award: Donald Hudson

The Waterman Fund invites our partners and patrons to a plated dinner on November 4, 2023 to celebrate recent work in the preservation of wild spaces and to spur discussion about the future of wilderness preservation in the Northeast. At this event, the Fund will also welcome Donald Hudson, recipient of the Guy Waterman Alpine Stewardship Award. Join us!

The Waterman Fund annually presents the Guy Waterman Alpine Steward Award to a person or organization who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to protecting the physical and spiritual qualities of the mountains in the Northeast.

Seeking to remind us of the values that Guy and Laura Waterman wrote about in their books and practiced in their lives, the award honors and thanks individuals who have shown a lasting commitment to preserving both the physical landscape of the Northeast and the spirit of wildness.

The award is typically presented in the fall at either the Alpine Stewardship Gathering or the Waterman Fund annual dinner.

Anyone who has been an active steward of the mountains of the Northeast can be nominated for the award. The nominee can be a volunteer, a government employee, or the employee of a for-profit or nonprofit organization. An organization or group may also be nominated.

New England alpine region


A letter to the Fund is all that is required to nominate someone. Nominations are due by August 1.

The recipient will be invited to receive their award at the Fund’s annual dinner or the biannual Alpine Stewardship Gathering.