Guy Waterman Alpine Steward Award Nomination

There is only one recipient of the Guy Waterman Alpine Steward Award each year. Nominations are due annually by August 1. The award winner is announced at The Waterman Fund's annual dinner.

Anyone who has been an active steward of the mountains of the Northeast can be nominated for the Guy Waterman Alpine Steward Award. The nominee can be a volunteer, a government employee, or the employee of a for-profit or nonprofit organization. An organization or group may also be nominated. The ideal nominee would display an enduring, heartfelt commitment  preserving both the physical landscape of the Northeast and the spirit of wildness.

The recipient each year will be invited to receive the Guy Waterman Alpine Steward Award at the Fund's annual dinner.

Please use the following form to nominate a person or organization for the award.

"*" indicates required fields

Nominator Information


Nominee Information

Nominee Name*
Nominee Email*
Nominee Address*
In essay format, please indicate how your nominee displays an enduring, heartfelt commitment to protecting both the physical resource and the spiritual experience of the Northeast backcountry. Include specific examples of the nominee's stewardship of the Northeast wilderness over a period of years, along with other relevant personal or professional experience.
Join our email list?
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.